TheRoyalBlock – 256 Blocks Is the Limit!

You don’t have to be a long time reader to know how fond I am of Steampunk. So it shouldn’t be a surprise then that at the first opportunity, I got to building airships in Minecraft:

2017-01-18_22-38-32

This was one of my first major Creative Mode projectsand the freedom Creative Mode provides compelled me to experiment! This airship became a study in character for me, and I tried to consider how the functions and inhabitants of the ship would inform it’s appearance.

2017-01-22_08-40-582017-01-22_08-51-19

The clean lines and white quartz blocks create a very regal look, while the vines mixed in bone and snow blocks reveal the ship’s past.

2017-01-22_08-52-57

Now we can meet the captain – except… This is one place where Minecraft fails and LEGO (amongst many other places, I assure you) – characters. There just isn’t a proper equivalent to Minifigures in Minecraft, only other real player avatars.

Because of this, the builder must create character in other ways! I tried to convey the nature if a captain as well as possible by his messy cabin:

2017-01-18_22-40-07

Apparently the crew is more organized – the storage area is much better!

2017-01-18_22-41-01

Now you’ve seen the whole build, so that’s another Minecraft build into the blogosphere!

I hope you enjoyed the tour! See you next time!

2 comments

  1. Great Job; it’s good to see the Royal Brick back in business.  Have you seen the advertisements for the new Lego Batman movie?

    1. Thanks! Yes, I have seen a few adds for the new Lego Batman movie, and it looks fantastic! I have a great track record with batman parodies (I tend to enjoy them), so I’m sure I’ll enjoy this one even more!

Comment on this post

