Okoto BioContest Round 2: The Phantom

Hello all! The Okoto Biocontest finished up last week, so here’s my entry into the finale:

8-30-2015 034

The challenge this time was to build “A g2 or                                                                                                           g1 protector or master 8-30-2015 0168-30-2015 019 with a vehicle with hidden weapons”. I got right to work, though I had to ask for an extension to get my entry in.

On to the builds!

Here is our pilot, Firebird. He is a bounty hunter and a tinkerer, and he loves playing with fire! He is well known for taking the jobs that no other bounty hunter would, and most think him very foolish. None think him brave.

The shape of the head required me to build a custom body, otherwise there would be no connection between the two.

8-30-2015 020

The focus of my entry is this craft, the Phantom 6, and man was it a headache to puzzle out! This was particularly challenging for me both because I have never built a Bionicle ship before, and because I wanted to achieve a ramshackle, thrown together look. Plus, the ship needed to include hidden weapons!

It all came together in the end though, and I am very happy with the end result.

As per the building prompt, the ship includes hidden weapons. Both8-30-2015 030 take the form of disguised flick fire missiles. The exhaust pipe in the picture can be angle back or forward, but I apparently didn’t capture that particular function in a picture.

Though the challenge didn’t require it, I decided also to add in another function. Spinning the main thruster adjusts the angle of the wings/landing gear.

That’s all that I have to say about this entry! My opponent also pulled through with a very cool entry at the very last minute. The results were never released, but that’s is all right! Competitions force a builder to build in ways that he or she wouldn’t normally think about, and I learned a lot from the challenge! I owe a big thanks to Saxton for putting this competition together, and for allowing an extension.

8-30-2015 038

Lastly, I know for a fact that many of you, the readers, are hoping to see some system creations after this long slew of Bionicle builds. I’m here to assure you that I have many brick built MOCs on the way that I am very excited about sharing!

Until next time!

The Royal Brick

3 comments

Comment on this post

