Minifigures!

Yes, it’s finally here! a whole post about Minifigs! I’ll be writing about creating, displaying, and customizing Minifigures. The obvious place to begin is…

Creating:

Most of my experience creating Minifigures is in the castle theme, and often what inspires me is a specific piece, especially the face.

5-7-14 018

Uncle Vernon from the original Harry Potter sets, gave this guard the perfect expression.

 

8-31-2014 023

I have found that knight Minifigures with dark, solid color pants and capes look very striking and heroic.

Displaying:

I like to display my Minifigures, and I do so in two different ways. Often I create a build that centers on my Minifigure or Minifigures:

8-31-2014 008

I created this model to showcase the police man and his hover-board.

Sometimes I build a stand for them that is customized to match there colors and theme:

8-31-2014 018

A Knight stand (pun intended) like this, is a great way to display knight minifigures, and is easily customized to match any color scheme and theme.

Customizing:

Lastly, many builders change the shape of the Minifigures, commonly by removing the minifigure’s “hips”:

8-31-2014 009
8-31-2014 016

I developed this technique to create the illusion of kneeling.

8-31-2014 015
Comment on this post

